Christmas and mental health #2

Hello and welcome to my blog. Today is part two of Christmas and mental health. If you want to read the first part. Make sure to check out my latest post.  Also, I must add Christmas season has been really hectic. A lot of school work to have done. Outside my personally busy schedule. Let’s get going into this blog!


Involvement

When we talk about mental health. One of the first things we talk about is involvement. The face to face contact. It is one of the first things we do less. So the Christmas season is a big excuse to do things for others. Talk and engage with those around you, people you love, friends, family.

I also understand that not everyone has that option. So something I like to do is volunteering work. This you can do by a charity, local community centrum/organization.
And this doesn’t need to end with Christmas and can be sustained throughout the whole year.

Give a call

If face to face contact is impossible or just feeling out of touch. There are a couple of things you can do. You can write a card, send an email or just call the person. Keep this line of communication open. It is good for you!!!!! And communication, of course, works two ways. If you communicate with someone, this might open up a line of communication, where they will also share things with you.

RELAX!!

I know out of first hand, Christmas can be a busy and stressful period. They are so many things to think about and adjust to. Those feelings can lead to anxiety and many other things. And in the long term, this can infect your mental health.

There a couple of things that help you relax.

  • exercise regularly
  • mindfulness
  • yoga
  • focus on your breathing

If you want more tips to stay relaxed. I made a whole blog about this theme, so make sure to check that out. https://prettyrose177.wordpress.com/2018/11/28/stress-no-not-again/

Sleep

I know getting enough sleep seems almost impossible during the Christmas season. But improving your sleep can improve your mental health. Just try to go back to your normal schedule as soon as possible. And other things that can improve sleep is to exercise, not consuming too much alcohol and to relax before going to bed.


I hope you can use some of the tips. And I almost forgot the most important one. Just have fun and celebrate Christmas.
Now my plans for this Christmas is to have lots of family members over. Probably more than this house can take. Then there is, of course, lots and I mean lots of food involved.

Well then, this is it for this blog. If you have any questions or just want to talk. Just leave a comment. And till next time.

-Rosa-Lynn-

 

p.s. Because of Christmas and this busy season, my next blog will be in 7 days. Instead of Monday and Wednesday. I want to apologize beforehand. And thank you for all those who read my blogs. I wish you all a happy Christmas and a happy 2019!

One thought on “Christmas and mental health #2

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started