Tips to make your home cozy for winter

Hello and welcome back!!

Today I want to share a list of tips when preparing yourself and your house for the cold in the winter. Or at least here its getting colder. It´s been raining a lot and just grey sky. A bit of a depressing mood. So that is why getting cozy is important! Want to know a fun fact before the tips? No, bad luck. In Danish you have the terme Hygge, which means to create a warm and inviting space, but also means to connect with your community. They use this to survive the winter.


1. A soft blanket and candles

I know I know.. This one is a bit cheezy, but when its cold outside having a nice soft blanket is so comferting. It keeps me warm and just make me feel right at home. In the same vibe I love to have many small candles around the house in the winter. It makes it romantic but also adds to the warmth. Winter favorite is a candle that smells like a ginger bread men or an apple pie.

2. It is okay to slow down

Often when its winter it feels like life itselfs slows down. This isn´t a weird reaction, if you look at nature, I always says in the winter nature goes to sleep. Now how to practice this. Sometimes it just means allowing yourself to have a break or putting less on your plate to do. You do this by not overworking yourself, but restoring your energy.

3. Reflect

For me winter is a time where I like to read and just reflect on the past year. Have I reached the goals I had set out? How am I? How is life going? I like to do this in silence, and just sit down and relax and thing about it. And sometimes I put ideas on paper, other times I just let my thoughts float.

4. Payjama day

Often when its colder I lose more energy during the week to complete tasks. This is partly due to the lose of day light. I love it when its weekend and I have no further engagements and I can just relax. Wear something comfertable and take a day for myself. Sleep in, maybe clean the house a bit. But no activities that take too much energy.


What is something you do to get through the winter? I love reading all the comments and stories. So if you have any thoughts to share, comment them down below.

And till next time,

Rosa-Lynn

8 thoughts on “Tips to make your home cozy for winter

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started