How I deal with flashbacks

Hello and welcome back,

Some of you might already know this. But I struggle with anxiety. And when I’m triggered and my anxiety turns really bad. I can’t sleep and often get flashbacks of some of my traumatic experiences.

I won’t go into detail of those flashbacks. The past is the past. I’m in a progress of not allowing it to hold me back. I want to share with you what I do the morning after those flashbacks and spike in my anxiety.


1. Talk about it

For a long time I didn’t have anybody to share my experiences with. The last few years I have learned to talk about it. The more I talk about my part. The less painfull most memories became. And then the more I would talk about my experiences.

The first thing I do in the morning is tell my husband about my night. I am always very clear in what triggered me. What happend, and most importantly what he can do. This often is telling him I am very sensitive to even the slightest raising of his voice. And that I need more space during the day. That when I need a hug or support, I’ll ask for it.

2. Music

I have a whole playlist on YouTube and Spotify with music that I like and calms me. So I make sure during the day to put on some music. Not too loud, more like a background noise.

This stops me in my thoughts and just allows me to enjoy the music and focus on the better things in life.

3. Write

If it’s on this blog or in my personal dairy, I write about my experiences. It helps me to get it out of my system and still het shit done during the day.

If I am lucky I can take a day off to really let the anxiety leave my body. But not all days that’s the case. Sometimes I still have responsibilities and just need the anxiety to leave my mind long enough to function and get everything done.


What is something you do when you had a bad night of sleep? Love to know your rituals in the comments.

Till next time,

Rosa-Lynn

9 thoughts on “How I deal with flashbacks

Add yours

  1. These are very helpful tips! I have a few relaxing playlists on my Spotify. Some of them are instrumental and others have vocals too. I also have a specific playlist for dissociation if Iโ€™m triggered too much. Itโ€™s got songs I know all of the lyrics to, because if I know the lyrics, itโ€™s easier to ground myself with them. Wishing you well in your journey ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started